What Are the NIST CSF Implementation Tiers?

What Are the NIST CSF Implementation Tiers?What Are the NIST CSF Implementation Tiers?
Rebecca KappelRebecca Kappel Staff asked 2 months ago

1 Answers
Rebecca KappelRebecca Kappel Staff answered 2 months ago
The NIST Cybersecurity Framework (CSF) provides a flexible and risk-based approach for organizations to manage and improve their cybersecurity posture. CSF consists of three main components: the Core, Implementation Tiers, and Framework Profile.

The NIST framework tiers describe the maturity of an organization’s cybersecurity practices. There are four implementation tiers in the NIST CSF.

1. Tier 1 – Partial

Organizations at this level of the NIST Cybersecurity Framework implementation tier typically have rudimentary cybersecurity measures, if any. They may need more dedicated resources for cybersecurity and often respond to incidents reactively. The focus is to raise awareness about cybersecurity risks and initiate basic security practices.

2. Tier 2 – Risk Informed

This tier marks the beginning of a more structured approach to cybersecurity. Organizations start identifying and prioritizing cybersecurity risks based on business objectives and potential impacts. While processes may still need to be fully formalized, there’s an acknowledgment of the importance of cybersecurity within the organization.

3. Tier 3 – Repeatable

At this stage, organizations have established formalized cybersecurity processes that are consistently applied. They have documented policies, procedures, and guidelines and regularly review and update them. Cybersecurity becomes integrated into the organization’s overall risk management framework, focusing on continual improvement.

4. Tier 4 – Adaptive

The highest tier represents organizations with a mature and dynamic cybersecurity posture. These organizations continuously monitor their systems and environments for emerging threats and vulnerabilities. They proactively adapt their cybersecurity practices to address evolving risks and changing business needs. Leadership is actively engaged in cybersecurity initiatives, and there’s a culture of innovation and agility in responding to cyber threats.

How Do Implementation Tiers Fit into CSF Compliance?

Here’s a quick overview of CSF compliance that explains how implementation tiers fit into the larger picture: 

  • The Core: At the heart of the CSF lies its Core functions, which provide cybersecurity activities and outcomes to guide organizations in managing and improving their cybersecurity posture. These functions consist of Identifying, Protecting, Detecting, Responding, and Recovering. Each function addresses different aspects of cybersecurity risk management, from understanding and prioritizing risks to effectively responding to and recovering from incidents.


  • Implementation Tiers: The Implementation Tiers represent the maturity of an organization’s cybersecurity practices. From Partial (Tier 1) to Adaptive (Tier 4), these tiers provide organizations with a roadmap for assessing and improving their cybersecurity posture. Organizations select the tier that best reflects their current state and desired level of cybersecurity maturity, guiding their efforts to enhance resilience and mitigate cyber risks over time.


  • Framework Profile: The Framework Profile allows organizations to customize the CSF to their needs and priorities. It is a roadmap for establishing target cybersecurity goals based on an organization’s risk management priorities, legal and regulatory requirements, and organizational constraints. By creating a Framework Profile, organizations can effectively align their cybersecurity efforts with their business objectives and tailor their cybersecurity practices to address their unique cybersecurity challenges.


Together, these components form the foundation of CSF compliance, providing organizations with a comprehensive framework and roadmap for managing and improving their cybersecurity posture in an ever-evolving threat landscape. 

Related Content

AI Auditing

AI Auditing

What is an AI Audit? AI audits determine whether an AI system and its supporting algorithms…
Data Exfiltration

Data Exfiltration

What Is Data Exfiltration? Data exfiltration is the unauthorized removal or moving of data from or…
Data Sovereignty

Data Sovereignty

What is Data Sovereignty? Data sovereignty asserts that digital data is subject to the laws of…
Skip to content